Ben Proffitt Crowned Windsurfer Of The Year…..

January 6, 2015 9:08 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

1306f8f1-502f-4b63-8cd4-2a75e297c672So for 2014 we were given 3 prolific UK windsurfers to pick our ‘Windsurfer Of The year 2014’. The people nominated were: Ben Proffitt – Wave, James Dinsmore – Slalom( Severne UK Rider), Jim Crossley – Speed, Emma Wilson – Racing, and Max Rowe – Freestyle (big hit at this years NWF).


The voting was definitely very close with the lead changing 3 times over the eight weeks of voting. But in the end a very popular winner Ben Proffitt came out on top. He will be handed the trophy by last years winner Farrel O’Shea and join a long line of previous winners including Nick Dempsey, Bryony Shaw, Zara Davis and Izzy Hamilton to name but a few

What Ben had to say when he found out.

“Awesome news thanks …to be honest if I’d lost to Emma Wilson I really wouldn’t have been upset as she had a great achievement this year winning the worlds!
But I’m super happy to win,for me I won the biggest thing I could have won this year and something I’d dreamed of as a kid growing up. Standing on the top of the podium in the Indoor really was special and something that doesn’t happen very often.
So winning the UK windsurfer of the year award really is the icing on the cake for a great year for me.

Thanks to everyone that voted for me and that have supported me all year, you’ve all helped heaps. Also a massive thanks to my Sponsors Simmer Style, Oshea, Doppstadt and funsport for all the help over the years and last but not least my parents who got me into this amazing sport and drove me around in the early days. I’m not really sure where I would be today with out all your help, thanks. Fingers crossed for a bigger and better 2015! …Or more of the same would be good to!”

Categorised in:

This post was written by James Connor

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.